Instant Book and house rules

Barbara2737
Level 2
Lancaster, KY

Instant Book and house rules

Hi All,

I am fairly new to hosting and so far all good instant book experiences.  Recently had one, however, in which the guest booked and then messaged that she would be having  six guests over so she could do their hair for a wedding.  
My listing clearly states 2 guests—it is a one-room barn loft.  I told her this wasn’t acceptable and that she should cancel (I don’t want my stats to get skewed because *I* canceled) and she has not.  I asked Airbnb to reach out and they said “she agreed to follow house rules.”  She lives locally and I have a suspicion she will still try to bring all the guests.  It’s self check-in.  Do I stand sentry at the door? Cancel her?  Ugh.

28 Replies 28
Helen744
Level 10
Victoria, Australia

@Barbara2737If you do IB then you have three no penalty cancellations . Otherwise contact Airbnb and ask them to cancel for you b, i am hoping that your rules state that only the booked guests can stay and any visitors must be run past you. she has told you that she will have six'clients' ? also state that businesses cannot be run from your space and simply cancel yourself . If you want to be nice suggest another nearby property that may wish to accommodate her .At least she was upfront about it . Generally people getting their hair done for a wedding do not hang around too long . H

M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Barbara2737 

It is well documented here that locals are trouble.

You shouldto contact Airbnb about the guest issue.  It sounds like a potential breach of the contract.

Barbara2737
Level 2
Lancaster, KY

Thanks so much for the response! The guest says they will follow the rules—this is what they told Airbnb.  I do not sense they will, and just hate feeling like a sitting duck.