Instant Book and house rules

Barbara2737
Level 2
Lancaster, KY

Instant Book and house rules

Hi All,

I am fairly new to hosting and so far all good instant book experiences.  Recently had one, however, in which the guest booked and then messaged that she would be having  six guests over so she could do their hair for a wedding.  
My listing clearly states 2 guests—it is a one-room barn loft.  I told her this wasn’t acceptable and that she should cancel (I don’t want my stats to get skewed because *I* canceled) and she has not.  I asked Airbnb to reach out and they said “she agreed to follow house rules.”  She lives locally and I have a suspicion she will still try to bring all the guests.  It’s self check-in.  Do I stand sentry at the door? Cancel her?  Ugh.

28 Replies 28
Gillian166
Level 10
Hay Valley, Australia

@Barbara2737 
so whilst I agree this might not be a good fit for your space, it does look a little small, I have some different advice.
 this woman could become a new income stream for you, if she's a local, professional wedding HMUA (hair and make-up artist), and you could actually charge her more for this stay. 
one of my listings i've converted to a 'wedding' listing, where I allow MHUA, photographers, parents etc come to the house to prep for a wedding. I charge 40% more and give them late checkout as needed, and allow photos to be taken inside the home and on the grounds. 

I don't know when you were last involved in wedding prep @Helen744  but wedding hair is not done in a salon typically.  HMUA are very professional, have all their own equipment, are very tidy and organised, and they always, always post the day on instagram (and tag us).  i love my wedding brides, they are happy and fun and so far have been so respectful and tidy.  I wish i could fill every week end with these groups. 

Do they book by the night and do you slow the wedding party to stay?

Allow not sure if I mistyped or autocorrect did that.