Reaching out for network in Edinburgh

Answered!

Reaching out for network in Edinburgh

Hi fellow hosts, I am reaching out to you in Edinburgh to get some advice on their network of cleaners. Alternatively, if you are interested to co-host with me. I have been hosting for 5 years now in Melbourne. We have a two BR flat in Edinburgh that we want to do Airbnb so we can get a flexible time when we are visiting Edinburgh, more likely twice a year.

I am going there in 2 weeks time to catch up with my husband and daughter who were ahead of me.

Any reply would be appreciated.

Thank you.

1 Best Answer
9 Replies 9
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Post in the Edinburgh host forum and ask for recommendations @Liana2120 

Also read up on the new STR requirements for Scotland to make sure you can meet the requirements. 

Thank you heaps Helen. Where can I find info on this new STR requirement? 

Fiona256
Level 10
Scotland, United Kingdom
Martin3344
Level 7
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

@Liana2120

As things currently stand if your Edinburgh flat is in a block of flats, and has a shared front door and / or any communal outside space, I'm afraid that you have virtually no chance just now to obtain planning permission and then a licence to operate a new STR in Edinburgh. It is just not worth spending the time and money to even attempt it at the present time. Existing STR operators are currently operating under a grace period extension and almost all of them will also have to stop in 6 months time for this same reason.

As this will effectively pretty well then close down most of the existing short term rental accommodation in the city, future visitors to Edinburgh after September will then need to rely on the limited capacity in already overpriced hotels for their accommodation needs, and the commensurate further escalated prices that they will naturally then charge their guests as the accommodation supply and competition in the city are slashed.