A personal item (photograph) disturbed my guest

Serendipity0
Level 1
Derby, United Kingdom

A personal item (photograph) disturbed my guest

Hi guys, i'm relatively new to AirBnB. But from my understanding the concept of it is to offer your home to traverlers to provide an authentic experience in one's country. Guests know they are staying in a home as opposed to a hotel. Right?

Last night i was contacted by the guests that are currently in my apartment - supposedly she freaked out about a photograph in the living room. To explain: i have a beautiful photograph of my late mother that was taken in the apartment when she was at her happiest. Because she was catholic, i placed her little crucifix next to it -- actually it had been like this in my apartment for over 10 years. I explained exactly what I just said and the guests want me to remove the photograph from the flat because placing it in a cupboard so it's out of sight wasn't good enough for them.

I'm now asking you guys....is it not acceptable to have personal photographs of one's family members in an Air BnB apartment? I feel it was a disrespectful message -- i don't know if the issue was the crucifix...which you would even find in hotels sometimes in a Mediterrenean country...many people in Portugal are catholic...what's the big deal?!

Of course I will arrange to remove the photograph and am now worried that photos are generally not accepted...or any religious artefacts.

I'm slso worried that i'm potentially facing a negstive review...

What are your thoughts on this??

Tess
14 Replies 14
LeighAnn1
Level 1
Atlanta, GA

This seems a bit outrageous to me. I would neither remove the photo or the crucifix. Most people will see around it if they give you a negative review.
Michael315
Level 1
Dublin, Ireland

Hey Serendipity,

That seems a bit OTT to me! This your home not an actual hotel/b + b.

People need to accept your surroundings/how you live, so I would keep it and stay firm.