Advice on a difficult guest?

Emily13
Level 2
Alexandria, VA

Advice on a difficult guest?

I have been renting my apt for 2 years and I have only had great experiences. I recently rented to someone for 100 days and she had two dogs. When she left the apartment it was a mess. My listing asks guests to leave the apartment in the condition they found it (though I always expect to clean and hire a professional - and I know that there will be dirt, and some mess).

This time, there were scratches on the walls and floors, scratches on the floor from the crates, and a very dirty mattress with yellow stains and dirt. I have to replace the tile, repaint the walls, and buy a new mattress. It also took 14 hours to clean the apartment becuase I had to scrub every corner for dog hair, bleach the baseboards and clean up vomit and dried stains. I only asked the guest to reimburse me for the mattress, but the rest of the items I am figuring out how to take care of myself. Overall it is easily $500-600 in damages and a day that I took off from work because the professional was only hired for a set amount of time.

Background is that we have dogs upstairs and our dogs got into fights with hers while she was staying with us. Since I was the host, I paid for any vet bills she had as I wanted her to feel comfortable. I did not ask her to pay for my vet bills. She chose not to leave and find a new apartment. Now that I have asked for reimbursement, she says that it was stressful and upsetting to live there, but never mentioned that during her 100 days stay.

I have rented to those with dogs before and had one girl who stayed for 4 months with two dogs and a roommate. They left the apartment in excellent condition. I have always had a good relationship with guests. My dogs have never had an issue with other dogs. And I have never asked a guest to pay for damages before.

1. Are my expectations unreasonable?