Age requirement

Jeffrey268
Level 1
Lyons, NY

Age requirement

I have an 18 year old guest that wants to book for a weekend.  She asked me if I had an age requirenment.  I had asked how old she was and what brings her to the area of my home.  She is local and wants a place for 6 friends and family to stay for the weekend.  They are all 18 or 19 years old.  She is new to Airbnb and has no reviews.

I have a bad feeling on this.  Would I be able to decine without being discriminating due to age?

12 Replies 12
Ava30
Level 10
Eureka, CA

@Jeffrey268  Go With Your Gut! Locals? and all under 21? Oh No, No, No, No Way! Just Decline, don't mention age,  and wait for a real booking. This reeeks of party time!

Ann489
Level 10
Boise, ID

@Jeffrey268   I would agree with Ava; this reeks of a party!  Definitely decline!  Renting to locals raises(often justified) suspicion with me--especially,  when the potential guest is under 21.

Ruth508
Level 2
Milton, FL

Hello, I am fairly new to hosting, but my experience with young college students at my house has been  excellent, and for the most part they were new to airbnb and no reviews. I don’t allow parties or guests not registered and is in the house rules. 

In contrast, my only negative experience so far was with a mid 30s couple with good and ok reviews. Have a great weekend!

Ruth

Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Ruth508yes, my experience with young guests is also good.... but 6 of them... 18 y.o..... locals ..... weekend ... last minute reservation...?????

No.

I don’t see the message I wrote before so forgive me if I am repeating myself.

I overlooked that they were local. Maybe that could be a problem. 

My house is in Puerto Rico and most of the people that have stayed are young college students. Thank you for responding.

Ruth

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Jeffrey268

I’m torn here.