Collecting security deposit to change the locks

Michelle183
Level 2
Pullman, WA

Collecting security deposit to change the locks

Hi, I've been hosting for over two years now, and I've never needed to claim anything against my security deposit attached to my listing (so far guests have done very minor and acceptable types of damage). Now a guest has lost the keys. She texted me, I met her with a spare set, and they finished their weekend stay. But they never found the original keys, and as the listing is a self-contained apartment attached to my home I need to change the locks. I uploaded a link to a comparable lock set (deadbolt and handle lock) to the Resolution Center and submitted a fee for replacing the locks and getting extra keys cut for $95, well within the security deposit listed. The guest "offered" a different amount ($30), and apparently that was the end of it, because that's what Airbnb sent to me as a payout. Now that doesn't seem right to me: Why does the guest get to determine how much I get to spend replacing the locks, why wasn't there any opportunity for me to insist on claiming the security deposit for the full amount I requested, since I was submitting my amount with documentation? And we all know, that's not an exhorbitant amount to ask for new locks, but what the guest offered is the absolute bottom end of the market price--that's unacceptable to me. Prior to the payout notification, I sent the issue to Airbnb arbitration, but I can't get anywhere with my request. So far I'm not impressed with Airbnb's system for collecting the security deposit. What do I do?

Thanks for your help!

8 Replies 8
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

@Michelle183

Seems fairly common, actually you got more than many seem to.

You have to include a slush fund whatever you like to call it in your rates, add $10 a night whatever to pay for things like this as you are unlikely to be able to recover in full.

David
Cormac0
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

@Michelle183