Complaints from neighbors

Angela431
Level 2
Toronto, Canada

Complaints from neighbors

Hello

I have been hosting only for two months, and it's going really well.

I am renting the entire house with 6 bedrooms, so most of my guests are big group and some of my guests have been too loud at night and I have been getting complaints from neighbors.

I have talked to the neighbors, explained what I'm doing with my house, and apologized about noise problem.

After that I interview my guests before accepting any reservations, and talk to my guests about noise issues during their stay as well.

However, my neighbors sent me a letter saying that they oppose to use of the house as Airbnb because it destabilize the neighborhood. Most of my neighbors are seniors who lived there for a long time and very very quiet. They simply don't want any strangers walking down the streets and making noise.

The neighbors report my house to municipal officials, but I'm not doing anything illegal here.

How can I resolve this? I got a call from municipal officer about the report, and they just warned me. But what if they keep reporting my house then what happens next? Can they shut down my business?

Please share your experience.

Thank you

20 Replies 20
Lilian20
Level 10
Argelès-sur-Mer, France

hello @Angela431 i guess the answer all depends on the country you're living in, my feeling is that a house owner is not responsible for guests disturbing the neighbourhood or anything else the guests could do. 

You are an **bleep** neighbor if you feel you have no responsibility to your neighbors for your guests!

Kate157
Level 10
SF, CA