Filing a Host Complaint When You Aren’t Guest Who booked

Shannon362
Level 1
Palo Alto, CA

Filing a Host Complaint When You Aren’t Guest Who booked

I recently stayed at an AirBnb location that my friend rented, and I inadvertently left a few items behind (obviously, important enough for me to reach out to the host and yes, I realize it is my fault for leaving valuable items, but as a lawyer, I also know that there are laws that protect me in these circumstances given my below actions). 

My friend put me in contact with the host who said that his cleaning people in fact had found my items last week and requested that I call back today (Tuesday after a long holiday) when he would be back from vacation. 

I texted the host this morning being politely this morning asking when he would be free for a call. He did not respond. So, this afternoon I called and he brushed me off now claiming that he has another renter in the house and that he will be back from Vegas in 2 or 3 days. 

Somehow, I think this will be an ongoing issue unless there is some kind of complaint I can file. 

10 Replies 10
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Shannon362  If it was not booked in your name, then I don't think you can file a complaint, but I'm not sure why you would file a complaint at this point anyway. Just because you think he won't respond, doesn't mean that's true. Why not give him the few days he said he needed until he gets back and then see? Also, did you offer to pay for the return of the items, or just expect the host to pay? Have ou offered any compensation for his time to pack the stuff up and post it?