Guest stayed for 2hours and left!

Answered!
Julie1738
Level 2
Caudiès-de-Fenouillèdes, France

Guest stayed for 2hours and left!

Hi all, 

I'm fairly new to this (our first season). I had a guest arrive today for 5nights but after 2 hrs they called to say that it wasn't suitable and that they were leaving. I went to see them to ask why...the noise from the road!. Not a lot I can do about that one and my description does say village centre, street view location. He was very pleasant and admitted that he did not read the listing or check out the location on the map. I tried to find them somewhere else suitable but with no luck.

My question is...what happens now?  Do I just wait to see if he cancels?...Is he entitled to a refund? (I have a relaxed cancellation policy - 24hrs).

Can I re-advertise?...although I assume not as he could change his mind and come back!?

Thanks in advance

1 Best Answer
Shauna28
Level 3
Washington, DC

I would make sure to communicate with him only through ABBs messaging platform and leave it on him to cancel and deal with ABB and your cancellation policy.  He may seek a refund but I'm not sure 'noise' is an acceptable reason for a guest to check in, leave early and expect a full refund. Good luck!

View Best Answer in original post

12 Replies 12
Shauna28
Level 3
Washington, DC

I would make sure to communicate with him only through ABBs messaging platform and leave it on him to cancel and deal with ABB and your cancellation policy.  He may seek a refund but I'm not sure 'noise' is an acceptable reason for a guest to check in, leave early and expect a full refund. Good luck!

Julie1738
Level 2

Thanks Shauna28. Fingers crossed then!

Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Julie1738 

don't do anything, let him cancel and you will get paid according to your cancelation policy. If he doesn't cancel even better, you will be paid the same as he stayed.

Nakayama0
Level 8
Oyabe, Japan

We are for "don't do anything, let him cancel"