Guests who make false claims

Stay-Together0
Level 2
Las Vegas, NV

Guests who make false claims

This is my first time posting something on the community board. The reason I am posting this is because I need some feedback from some other Hosts. It seems like with Airbnb I come across guests every so often that try to find something to complain about so they can get a refund or discount. Today I received a message from Airbnb telling me a guest had filed a claim for having to stay in a dirty room and that they reached out to us to get this taken care of and they had to now get Airbnb involved. The guest had a reservation for 1 night only. They never once contacted us about anything let alone the room being dirty. But this guest tells Airbnb she did contact us and she wants a refund. When I replied I pointed out the fact that if they look at the messages exchanged this guest never once contacted about a dirty room issue. I have dealt with this same thing with a few guests with Airbnb and of course Airbnb always sides with the guests and the Host gets screwed... Does this happen to anyone else? It almost feels like certain people will book only with Airbnb because they know they can come up with some complaint and Airbnb will give them a refund. I've even had a guests threaten me and tell me that if I didnt allow a late checkout that they were going to contact Airbnb and file a complaint and ask for a refund. These guests left a mess that was close to the worst I have ever seen one of my units, yet they threaten me if I dont give them what they want they will call and file a complaint. This tells me this guests has done this before and knows Airbnb will side with the guests regardless of the circumstances. Does any of this happen to anyone else or am I just the unfortuniate one? I think us Host need to develop a group that we can list the names and information on guests that have done things like this or have been bad guests. This would allow other Hosts the opportuni