Number of people staying

Answered!
Denise1415
Level 2
Buderim, Australia

Number of people staying

Hi 

I am new to hosting and have a 2 bedroom unit.  Is it possible to charge different amounts depending on if someone wants to just book for 1 bedroom compared to 2 bedrooms. Many thanks

Top Answer
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Denise1415  Yes, you can charge a base amount for 2 people and  an extra guest fee over that. But if people only want one bedroom, it's best to lock off one of the bedrooms, because the guests may use both beds, so you have the same amount of bedding and cleaning to do as if you had 4 guests in 2 bedrooms. And if you lock off a bedroom you have to make this arrangement clear in your lusting and in messaging to guests.

Another way to work it is to have 2 listings, one for 1 bedroom (with the other locked off and the ad saying it's a one bedroom) with a max of 2 guests, and one for both rooms with a max of 4. You have to then link the calendars so if one option gets booked, the other becomes unavailable. 

The second option might be more straightforward as you aren't screwing around with extra guest fees. But I've seen hosts use either of the above strategies.

View Top Answer in original post

5 Replies 5
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Denise1415  Yes, you can charge a base amount for 2 people and  an extra guest fee over that. But if people only want one bedroom, it's best to lock off one of the bedrooms, because the guests may use both beds, so you have the same amount of bedding and cleaning to do as if you had 4 guests in 2 bedrooms. And if you lock off a bedroom you have to make this arrangement clear in your lusting and in messaging to guests.