Reservation automatically accepted

Roberta161
Level 1
Naxxar, Malta

Reservation automatically accepted

Hello there someone just booked my property and its showing that it has been accepted.i want to decline it will it be subject to a fee? I am new to air bnb. How does it work? For future instances is there a possibility that enables me to accept or decline within 24hrd? I am afraid i have something wrong in settings

11 Replies 11
Marit-Anne0
Level 10
Bergen, Norway

@Roberta161

You have Instant Book activated - anyone can book without your approval.  Declining is not an option - you would have to cancel and face the penalties of host cancellation - for a new host that is close to commercial suicide before you have even started.

I suggest you snooze your listing while you take a bit of time to learn how airbnb works.  

You could explain the matter to your guest and ask the guest to cancel their reservation.  

1. I am new to this too, but I believe there is a setting where you can accept or REJECT "instant bookings."  I learned this from a recent guest, savy at Airbmb. He told me that I did NOT have the instant booking setting.  I was glad to hear this.  I want to be able to approve or disapprove a potential guest.  Im not sure HOW I did it though....  Good Luck!  I have just had 2 guests so far, but I love the $ being dropped into my paypal account, the day after (or the very day?)  my guest arrives.  Don't give up--find that instant booking setting and uncheck it!

Thank you..

i changed it to no one.....

lets hope the guests understand

@Roberta161

The guests will not understand - they will want the best possible value for their money and disabling instant book you will be pushed way down in the search results.  

How do i snooze listing?

@Roberta161

Go to the "discuss" tab above and find the community help guides. 

Or use the help section and type "snooze"  like so https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/476/how-do-i-snooze-or-deactivate-my-listing