Accepting booking requests

Helen807
Level 2
London, United Kingdom

Accepting booking requests

Hi All,

I am hoping to get a little bit of advice... I am new to Airbnb (as a host) and not sure about some things. I thought I was on Instant booking (only guests with good reviews) but it seems I am not. I have just had a request to book and as it was last night I had a message from Airbnb saying I only have 15 hours left to accept or decline or they will block out that weekend. Anyway, I felt a little pressured so I accepted. The person has only joined airbnb this month, has no pic and only a mobile number, no other id. I feel a little uneasy about this. Should I? Or does this happen a lot? She has sent a brief message saying she loves where I live. I have replied saying i look forward to hosting her. I have since realised there is a big festival in my town that weekend and it's quite a 'party' weekend. Should I message her more and ask for id? Or try and get a bit more info? I don't know if I am worrying unnecessarily.. I know it's too late to really do much about it now but any advice would be very gratefully received. Thanks, Helen

23 Replies 23
Jim472
Level 10
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Welcome to the double edged sword. I've posted my absolute fury at the system in place but the bottom line is even if guests don't have photos, government id, or previous reviews they're still allowed to "request" booking. It doesn't matter if those are "requirements" for guests, they can still "request", I put it in quotes because it's not really a request. We hosts are forced to either "Accept" and get a possible nightmare booking, "Decline" and take a hit on out acceptance rate ( <88% = bad), or ignore and have dates blocked and take a hit on your response rate.

From what I've read the ignore option is the worst, followed by the "Decline", leaving "Accept" which takes away all semblance of the word request.