Discounts

Richard529
Level 8
Honolulu, HI

Discounts

Can I have a discount for/because:   Im local, its a short stay, its a long stay, Im a student, Im a senior, Im (___insert profession__),  Its a last minute booking, Im booking far out, my budget is  _____, because its too expensive, hotels are cheaper, everyone else is cheaper, Im also a host, its the weekday, its the weekend, Im visiting because of a death in the family, Im visiting for a wedding, Im visiting for a medical procedure, I will be working during the day, ETC.....

This culture of discounts and being cheap needs to stop!  All hosts I speak to are saying the same.  Pricing doesnt matter anymore.  Guests are now telling us what they will pay.  I just tell them this isnt Priceline.com.  I also ask guests if they ask the airlines for a discount.  That question has never been answered but I know the answer anyways.   But really, its way out of control and Airbnb needs to do a better job educating guests.  What are we supposed to do, just give it away and they would still complain.

Airbnb also needs to find a way to present listings in a way that guests dont have to click so many times to view a listings description, amenities and house rules.  Guests are not reading listings anymore.  They just look at a picture and fire of questions that are answered in the listing.

Just saying.  Sorry...not sorry!

5 Replies 5
Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Richard529 

Richard, take control of your listing description!

I do not offer up-front discounts, even if it's Brian Chesky everyone pays full price  here.

Now that's not to say I don't give discounts, I do but, I will assess at the end of the stay what discount may be appropriate in the form of a refund. 

Too many hosts have been stiffed into being paid a 15-30% discount for a 6 night stay because the guest chose to terminate their 14 night stay after 6 nights and been refunded the remainder of their stay at the day rate they paid!