Guest demand full refund one day after checking in

Hamza55
Level 2
Islamabad, Pakistan

Guest demand full refund one day after checking in

Hello all,

I'm new to hosting, so want an advice from the community. My guest (booked for 3 nights) checked in and didn't mention something about cleaning. Next morning, he took pictures of a few spots which were serviced but didn't meet his expectations I guess. Although there were a few 'not so clean' hidden spots as well which were over-looked during the cleaning. Again, he didn't mentioend anything and left the place and then sent me photos mentioning that he'd file a case. Now he has asked for a full refund which I believe is unfair. But he has photos and I'm not sure what should I do and I want to avoid his negative review as well.

Regards,

14 Replies 14
David6
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Hamza55 

You are just starting out on your hosting  journey,  but what you need to make a priority is cleaning;  it’s something that guests are going to be judging you on. 

Basically you can’t afford to miss any ‘spots’. Literally you will not make any money & Airbnb will remove you from the platform if numerous guests complain. As a new host you need to make a huge effort. Check everything and make it perfect for each and every guest.

If this guest has evidence and it’s honest?! YOU will know if is a scam or genuine.

And if he checked out after 1 night,  then he is due a 2 night refund,  BUT Airbnb may side with the guest and give full refund. Depends on his ‘evidence.’

Nothing you can do. I would leave a response if he leaves a negative review regarding cleaning.

dont  get personal. This is for future guests to read, not this guest. He’ll likely never come back or look at your listing again.

’Sorry for these issues. We have just started hosting,  but have taken immediate  steps to ensure all our listings are in immaculate  condition from now on.’

Good luck.

Hi David,