Help taking the personal aspect out of this business

Stephanie1215
Level 2
New York, NY

Help taking the personal aspect out of this business

Hi Everyone

Calling all airbnb veterans to help me with this!!

I am fairly new to airbnb, about 3 months in. My struggle is trying to separate the personal from business. We live in a 2 family brownstone in Brooklyn. The apartment we rent out is recently renovated and we've put so much time, care, and attention into making this space a real home away from home. In other words, we've invested a lot more than just money. That is why I am taking it so personally when guests leave the space messier than expected, break or have things go missing without reporting it, dirtying towels and linens beyond repair with makeup, food, and who knows what else, bringing more people than expected, etc. Some of the behaviors feel as though they are being done purposefully even though I know that probably isn't the case - except for this one guest which is a whole other story. I've made sure to put in the house rules all of the expectations of the guests because we provide exceptional service to them. I am the type of person where if you're upfront with me, I will work with you. I just don't like sneakiness or if someone is trying to take advantage. 

I have a feeling the personal will come out of it for me eventually, but right now I'm having a hard time separating the two. After all, it is my home. And even though I am new at this, I make sure to point out certain things to the guests when I see something is not right. I'm not afraid to politely address it.

Also, if anyone has any good rugs and/or padding you put down for sound absorption, please share. 

Thank you so much for listening to me vent!

15 Replies 15
Susan151
Level 10
Somerville, MA

@Stephanie1215 My cousin is one of your neighbors! I know the layout of your home well.