Holding dates hasn't worked

Ruth372
Level 2
Inverness, United Kingdom

Holding dates hasn't worked

Hello, I am fairly new to this so need some help. I have pre-approved and held dates an hour ago for one guest I am having a conversation with about local facilities. A second guest has sent me a Request which is Pending as I haven't responded.  Against my first guest enquiry it now says 'Not Possible' which I understadn means that those dates are not now available. Why is that? Thanks in advance. 

12 Replies 12
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Ruth372,

A Request reserves the dates until declined or expired, an Inquiry does not touch the dates, even when it is pre-approved.

You said "i have pre-approved and held dates", what do you mean by this ? Did you block the dates manually after the pre-approval ? Then you did it not correcly, otherwise the Request could not have been there....

Best regards,

Emiel

@Emiel1 Could it be that @Ruth372 thinks that pre approving an inquiry reserves the dates to the guest? It doesn't @Ruth372 you are saying " it is okay with me you book - you are welcoming the guest to book but doesn't reserve the dates. If someone then sends an actual request it will overrule the inquiry.

Ruth372
Level 2

Many thanks for your speedy reply. I manually checked the box that said Hold Dates for the person and underneath it says "Block guests from booking these dates instantly until the pre-approval expires". When I look at the message page that box is still checked. So I'm still confused as to how I have a pending request from another person for those dates....Mnay Thanks for your help. 

Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Ruth372 

"block guests from booking these dates instantly".

It's about Instant Book. The request you received is NOT an Instant Booking, but a "normal" request, blocking the dates. If you want the dates free again you have two options:

1. decline the request

Or