Hotel Taxes - Occupancy taxes

Hotel Taxes - Occupancy taxes

I normally pay my own hotel occupancy taxes in San Diego where I rent.

I am new to AirBnB, and not sure if they are paying them for San Diego.  The info page, seems as if they are, but I am unsure.

Can anyone let me know in the area, what they do?

Thanks

Cyndi

37 Replies 37
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

Are you a host or guest? I'm a host, but not from San Diego, and I pay the Occupancy tax out of my earnings.  Please clarify your question.

Tuan0
Level 1
Los Angeles, California, United States

Hi Clare,

I'm a host, do I have to get a business license with the city to host. I'm in Los Angeles?

How do I pay my TOT?

Thank you,

Tuan

I can't speak to what the county or city of Los Angeles requires, but in San Luis Obispo I had to get approval from the Zoning Department then get a business license.  I pay 10% of the gross (before the 3% Airbnb fee) each month.  You might consult with the city/county Tax Collector to see what is or is not required.  I would be astonished if you were not required to do something similar to what I have to do. 

By the way, I just incorporate the tax into the total price I charge.  Hate nickel and dime-ing the guests. 

Patti1
Level 2
Vieques, Puerto Rico

Hi, I am new also and I have my place listed with taxes included.  I don't want to nickel and dime either.  My question is, each month I have to pay a 7% tax.  I am confused as to what I put on my monthly tax declaration. Say my place is listed at $135 includes taxes, when I do my monthly declaration, do I put $126 and then 8.80 in tax  =  $135 it rounds up..   Last month I put $135 and I had to pay out a nice chunk from my pocket. I want the customer to pay the taxes? 

Thank you