How would you handle this situation?

Noreen45
Level 2
New Hampshire, United States

How would you handle this situation?

Hi,

I've been hosting now for about 4 years. 99.9% of my reviews are positive and I love corresponding with my guest, but there is this one now that has gotten under my skin.

She and her friends had a lovely time at my place she said, but when checking out she called me saying there was something wrong with the washer machine and it was leaking.  I asked her to shut the water off to the machine and I was on my way.

When I arrived, the guest were gone and the cleaners were already there. My cleaners told me that they pretty much flooded the laundry/bathroom. We had to rewash all the linins and towels. We could not recreate the "leaking" with the 4 loads of wash we did and we chalked it up to, that they overloaded the washer and it flooded. I've done this in the past, so I know it can make a mess.

Besides that, they left an excessive amount of trash, which I normally wouldn't mind, but per my check out procedures, the recyclables are to be separated out. They weren't, and I spent an hour sorting through 7 large bags of trash in 90 degree heat so I could take it to the dump.

I tried to charge her for the added cleaning required. She, of course fought back, stating "oh I wasn't going to say anything, but their were bugs in the bed, your windows were jammed....." and some other things.  We went back and forth and nothing got resolved. I decided it was more aggravation than it was worth. There was no damage, just time lost and I told her I was just dropping it. Before I tried to charge her, they had wrote a in my guest book how much fun they all had too.

Well, a week later now and I get a notification that she wrote a review. I can't read it yet, but it's killing me that she more than likely wrote a scathing one.