Why would you want to start hosting?

Craig302
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Why would you want to start hosting?

Hey everybody, 

I am a student working on a research project for school. It is a business project that looks at this amazing platform (Airbnb). I have managed to get tons of great information reading through the various threads. But there is one thing that still eludes me. And I am hoping that reaching out to all of you will help me in getting the answers I need for my assignment. 

I am saying thank you ahead of time!!!

So here we go. I would really love if some of you would not mind telling me the following:

1. What was it that motivated you to start hosting your spare home or space?

2. What are the greatest struggles and joys you experience as hosts?

3. What would you change if you could?

I really appreciate all the help I can get, and I hope you all have a wonderful holiday! 

Craig

23 Replies 23

1. I got on this colored train out of curiosity, for the joy, to get to know other people, to seek out new worlds, to gain fresh starts.
  2. One of the first things that this experience has taught me is not to be afraid of anything. Some travelers have taught me to trust, how to let someone in, and what it truly means to keep an open mind. Most of them have made my life better in one way or another.
  3. The stars, the review system, the algorithm, the glitter and the rouge.
Marilyn43
Level 10
Back Valley, Australia