DAMAGES TO MY HOUSE BY 2022/2023 DECEMBER GUESTS

Answered!
Celia404
Level 2
Groot Brakrivier, South Africa

DAMAGES TO MY HOUSE BY 2022/2023 DECEMBER GUESTS

I've been hosting since 2018 and had some damages from a previous guest. This year however my experience was horrifying.

1. A white cotton tablecloth ruined beyond rescuing with reddish-orange stains. I've tried a variety of products for stains at huge costs and literally washed this tablecloth 7 times.
  2. Turquoise fabric serviettes and matching placemats ruined with the same reddish-orange stains.
  3. A brown coffee cup stain on my white bedside table - got to be resprayed.
  4.  Wine glasses missing.
  5. Food from the stove messed onto the side of a kitchen cupboard, leaving a yellow stain.
  6. A couch cover was filthy and stained. This had to be dismantled by an upholsterer  
  7. The upholstery of three of the six dining chairs stained – two with what looks like water stains, probably from wet swimming costumes, and one stained with red and green stains. I'll have to have all 6 re-upholstered. I will be to embarrassed to rent out my place with dining chairs looking like this.

In South Africa we also have the situation where a whole family group will rent or camp in close proximity to each other in our area. My last guests had family members camping a 45-minute drive from my place and all the washing was done at my house. I’ve never seen guests with so many washing as these last ones. This is not the first time I experience this.

The only measure I can think of to avoid teenagers in my house again, is to insist on Identification numbers before I let my house again. In that way I can see how old the guests are?