Declining a reservation request from a guest who has done damage

Ken3543
Level 1
Stonington, CT

Declining a reservation request from a guest who has done damage

We are BRAND NEW and have a request from someone with a single AirBnB review that indicated they did $1300 in damage the last time they used AirBnB. We aren't inclined to accept it as a result, but wondering how it might hurt us in search rankings, etc. despite the profile of the guest making the request. How do we keep potentially damaging guests away without hurting our profile, especially early on?

6 Replies 6

@Ken3543.Welcome Ken!

If it was me (and I value protecting the property ahead of great rankings) as a newbie I'd respond straight away with LOTS of questions about their previous problematic stay, purpose of their visit etc. Also ask if they have read the House Rules and would agree to abide by them all.

This will keep your response rate up (for SH purposes) and make it appear you want to help.

It will block your dates for the 24 hours as its a Request to Book (not an Enquiry) but then the dates become available again.

Search ranking metrics change by the minute so impossible to control. Lower prices seem to be a large influence (as well as IB, GF/SH, recent bookings, previous review ratings, available dates etc ) but be careful about who that attracts.

Having said this, some hosts will just take the money and ignore the risk. Good luck.

Hi @Ken3543 

I agree with @Frances3408 . I would contact the guest and advise them of the previous Host's mention of the damage (and I'm assuming) bad review. I would ask the guest if they would respond and shed some light on the situation as @Frances3408 said.