Definitive list of all AirBnb-initiated messages sent to guests

Richard3335
Level 2
Mosman, Australia

Definitive list of all AirBnb-initiated messages sent to guests

Hi all,

I'm a relative AirBnb newbie host, but as an IT guy I find it a difficult to determine just what (and when) AirBnb sends messages to guests of it's own volition. I.e. not scheduled messages that I have defined.

I think its really important to ensure content is not delivered repeatedly or content is overlapped, as it can both annoy and confuse guests. It would also useful to know how AirBnb's messages are constructed. I.e. exactly how the message is derived, be they constructed via templates using multiple snippets of content, and where these snippets come from etc.

I was hoping this sort of information would be available in a single place in the overall platform documentation, but no luck finding it so far. Any ideas ?

Thanks

Richard  

3 Replies 3

@Richard3335 

I agree. Unless you book an Airbnb as a guest yourself, you don't know what messages Airbnb sends to guests. 

I suggest providing feedback to Airbnb that Hosts would like to know what messages are sent to guests and when they are sent.

Thanks @Joan2709. I did just that, here's a copy - somewhat inclusive of my original query and somewhat embellished:

Hi AirBnb Management

I'm a relative AirBnb newbie host, but as an IT guy I find it a difficult to determine just what (and when) AirBnb sends messages to guests of it's own volition. I.e. not scheduled messages that I have defined.

I think its really important to ensure content is neither delivered repeatedly or overlapped across AirBnb and Host-based scheduled messages, as it can both annoy and confuse guests. It would also be useful to know how AirBnb-initiated messages are constructed. I.e. exactly how the message is derived, be they constructed via templates using multiple snippets of content, and where these snippets come from etc.