Request for Refund outside of Strict Policy

Answered!
Tiffany944
Level 2
Atlanta, GA

Request for Refund outside of Strict Policy

Hello! I am fairly new to hosting and have had a future guest reach out to me indicating she needs to cancel. My policy is "strict" and she is cancelling 9 days in advance so she would get a 50% refund. She reached out asking for a full refund. I am fine to offer that if I am magically able to rebook her week long reservation within the next 8 days. Should I have her initiate the cancellation and let her know that I can refund the additional 50% if someone rebooks the time? How would I do that after the fact?

I've reached out to airbnb and the chat bot keeps sending me a link to send to the guest. "Your guest’s reservation isn’t eligible for a full refund under your cancellation policy, but if you both have agreed on an additional refund, you can send them a link and ask them to start a request." I'm assuming that I wouldn't send that link at this time because we have not agreed on a full refund. 

Thanks a bunch for the help! 

1 Best Answer
Jennifer1897
Level 10
Irvine, CA

@Tiffany944  Yes! The guest needs to initiate the cancellation. Under no circumstances should you do so as you will face penalties. 

I too have a strict cancellation policy and offer the same thing you do, which is a potential additional refund if any portion of the cancelled dates are able to be rebooked. I would send her a message stating something along the lines of the following 

"HI XYZ, my apologies that you are unable to complete your stay. I would advise you to cancel the reservation as soon as possible, therefore my calendar will be opened again for potential bookings. In the event I am able to rebook any of your cancelled days, I will happily refund you that additional amount. Thank you so much." 

View Best Answer in original post

5 Replies 5
Jennifer1897
Level 10
Irvine, CA