Threaten by guest and asked for full refund

Juan4516
Level 1
Longueuil, Canada

Threaten by guest and asked for full refund

Hi everyone,I am a beginner, recently a guest reserved 54 nights, but he did not check-in until the second day. then he said there was strong ordr and asked me full refund. I did not agree with this,and BnB also said he did not have enough proof, the reservation was still effective. the other day he said he can stay for this month and asked me to meet inperson . ny husband went the  rented house,then the most horrible nightmare came,he locked the door and forced my.husband sit there ,ordered him to cancel the reservation. I called 911 immediately, the guy went away while the police came.

I.also  made several complaints to BnB, but which to my surprise,they finally cancelled it and gave full refund to the.guy without any reasonable explanation. 

they even ignored such a serious violence and dose not asked my opinion about refund .What shoud I do .I am really panic,disappointed,and hopeless😭

5 Replies 5
Helen3
Top Contributor
Bristol, United Kingdom

I am so sorry to hear this what a truly dreadful situation for your family made so much worse by Airbnb refunding a guest who has held your husband literally to ransom @Juan4516  @Stephanie  can your team raise this please

Hosts should expect Airbnb to support them in these sort of situations not reward guests who threaten a hosts safety .

Mar125
Level 10
California, United States

@Juan4516 

This is scary to hear. 

Rule number 1 as a host is to keep distance from your guest. 

Rule number 2 is to screen guest ID before opening the door. 

As for the ransome part, you should report the guest and ask for full payout. 2nd, you shall immediately reach out to an attorney and file a personal injury case. 

Personal injury cases are usually contingent upon the recovery fees, so you shall find a good attorney.