Unreasonable Guest

Answered!
Jennie142
Level 3
New York, NY

Unreasonable Guest

Hi all,

I am new to hosting and in a bit of a jam and looking for some advice.  I have a guest currently in my apartment for a long term rental.  Today is day 2 of 32.  I could tell, prior to his arrival, that he would be high maintenance based on the questions he was asking, but never expected what I've gotten.  First, let me start by saying this is a fully furnished private apartment in Manhattan for $55/night as we are just trying to cover some costs for a couple months while we aren't in the apartment.  Today we got a message stating that the apartment was "unlivable" for two reasons.

1) There is no heat.  

2) The bed is too small for even one person, let alone two.

We have responded to these concerns as follows.

1) In pre-war apartment buildings in NYC heat is controlled on a building-wide basis, not apartment wide basis.  We were just there 3 days ago to make sure the apartment was ready for the guest and it was too hot.  To be fair, the renter asked about this ahead of time and I told him it was more likely to be too hot than not hot enough and we had AC available for him if that's the case.  We have agreed to supply the renter with a space heater if he is not warm enough and indicated that, while there is heat in the building, it is not controllable by him, which might be why he thinks it's not heated at all.  We agreed to come measure the temp so that we can more appropriately address the situation.

2) The listing clearly states that there is one double bed.  He claims that he was expecting a bed that was 76x80 (this is a King size bed in the US) and told me to reference the "federal guidelines".  These don't exist.  Clearly we will not replace the bed.