How much damage to bedding is considered acceptable??

Answered!
Luis3823
Level 2
Phoenix, AZ

How much damage to bedding is considered acceptable??

Hi,

I'm new to hosting and would appreciate some advice. Some guests spent a night with us and left blood spots on the comforter and bodily fluid stains on the blanket. Should I consider that "normal" ? It created more work for us obviously and felt careless.

Thanks for your feedback.

1 Best Answer
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Luis3823  Yes, it's normal. Dealing with bodily fluids on bedding, unless it looks like an axe murder took place, is part and parcel of hosting. You are dealing with human beings- they have sex, women have menstrual periods, people get nose bleeds or a mosquito bite they scratch in their sleep. 

Hosts become adept at stain removal techniques. Blood is actually one of the easier things to deal with. Soak in cold water (hot water cooks it in so it never comes out), pour some hydrogen peroxide over the spots, when the stain is gone, wash as normal.

This is not something to mark a guest down for, and never mention personal things like this in a review.

View Best Answer in original post

21 Replies 21
Luis3823
Level 2
Phoenix, AZ

Also want to add that these guests have 5 perfect reviews. Do they still deserve a good review from me?

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Luis3823  Yes, it's normal. Dealing with bodily fluids on bedding, unless it looks like an axe murder took place, is part and parcel of hosting. You are dealing with human beings- they have sex, women have menstrual periods, people get nose bleeds or a mosquito bite they scratch in their sleep. 

Hosts become adept at stain removal techniques. Blood is actually one of the easier things to deal with. Soak in cold water (hot water cooks it in so it never comes out), pour some hydrogen peroxide over the spots, when the stain is gone, wash as normal.