I don't like Airbnb’s rating system and wish they would either change it or for someone to make a good competitor for Airbnb

Aya2119
Level 2
Voorhees Township, NJ

I don't like Airbnb’s rating system and wish they would either change it or for someone to make a good competitor for Airbnb

I have been hosting with Airbnb since August 2020 and the entire process has not been pleasant. I have been a super host since April 2021 (I missed the January 2021 date bevause I didn’t meet the number of bookings requirements). I go above and beyond for all my guests. The condo is always extremely clean and well stocked and have been left welcome baskets and treats when I know there is a special occasion or when kids are coming. The majority of my guests have left me stellar reviews. Unfortunately the few that haven’t are pushing me to the brink of potentially losing my super host status. None of it is even based on anything. Some have done 4s all around just for the sake of doing it and literally have no complaints, others have given me 5s in all categories and 4 overall again with no complaints and stellar reviews. A couple have been valid (I put I had double beds when they are in fact singles (honest mistake but I get the issue)) while others complained about having to buy toilet paper after staying there for more than a week (I stock basic necessities even though my listing says I don’t provide essentials and I charge according to that). But in the end, I found the entire rating system sooo confusing for guests and so skewed to them. 

I just don’t get it. I guess Airbnb has nothing to lose because us Hosts continue to list our places on the platform but I really thing they entire thing needs to be revised. I am so frustrated with it and just wish and hope another platform garners some attention like Airbnb and we can all just switch. 

i guess this is nothing more than my venting but I really needed to. Haha

thank you if you are still reading. 

Tittle updated by OCM