Blurry Pixelated Photos on Airbnb

Blurry Pixelated Photos on Airbnb

Can anyone help me understand why my photos are so pixelated/ soft/ blurry on airbnb? I am actually a professional photographer using a high end camera, uploading jpegs that are 2400 pixels on the longest side, they look great on my huge monitor in photoshop, but then when I upload them to the airbnb site, they look terrible and pixelated and soft. Obviously they are being processed by Airbnb to down sample them. Can anything be done about this? Also I notice vertical photos look terrible on an ipad and some computers, verticals look much worse then horizontals, but they all look bad. My intro photo looks very soft too. 

25 Replies 25

@Trinette---Chris0

I have the same problem for some of them (not all though!). Would love to hear possible reasons here so I could fix it. 

Maksim4
Level 1
Skopje, Macedonia

Hi there guys,

Did you manage to find a solution to this problem?

Actually my problem is that Airbnb did an initial photoshoot of my property, and uploaded their photographs to my profile, which were all sharp. Then, well, before the co-hosting feature was made available, I wanted to transfer the hosting obligation to another family member, who made another profile at Airbnb, while I disabled mine. Since we could not ask Airbnb to invest in another photoshoot of our property, we simply downloaded the photographs from the now-disabled-property, and uploaded them to the new one. They came up quite blurry unfortunately, although when I am previewing them on my PC, they are still great. Any solution to this? I would really my appreciate any help. Thanks a lot 🙂

Best regards,

Maksim

Keely-N-Derek0
Level 2
San Diego, CA