Breakfast

Answered!
Elaine442
Level 2
Hastings, New Zealand

Breakfast

I just assumed that Airbnb meant, apart from the history of 'Air', bnb stands for bed and breakfast. However, I do not see breakfast talked about much or on many listings. I am new at this, and quickly realized that in providing breakfast, often cooked, that I was not going to be left with much $, after extra power, cleaning and the other minor expenses. What do other's do? And should the price reflect this? And how?

1 Best Answer

Thank you Sarah for the hosting information and advice. I'm much relieved to understand this. I particularly appreciated the adage - offer less and deliver more. I will act on it immediately. 

View Best Answer in original post

17 Replies 17
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Elaine442  No, there's no requirement to provide breakfast in an Airbnb. You just need to be sure to uncheck the "Breakfast" amenitiy. Many hosts, like me, don't offer it because the guests we get aren't the least bit interested in breakfast- they might want a cup of tea or coffee (I do offer that, but I don't mention it in the listing- one of the adages of hosting is to offer less and deliver more), then they like to get out and about. Also I'm a late riser- the last thing I want to do is get up early and make a cooked breakfast 🙂

If you enjoy making breakfast for guests, then by all means do, but definitely up your room rates so it's worth your while. Some hosts just leave a continental breakfast- some buns or croissants, some fruit, yoghurt, milk, granola, etc. But again, make sure you're charging enough to cover that.

Thank you Sarah for the hosting information and advice. I'm much relieved to understand this. I particularly appreciated the adage - offer less and deliver more. I will act on it immediately. 

Fran2
Level 10
Launceston, Australia