Deduct expenses higher than earnings?

Leslie175
Level 1
Denver, CO

Deduct expenses higher than earnings?

Hi folks,

This is my first year hosting.  I did a basement renovation that cost me about $20k, including contractor labor and materials earlier this year.  Post-reno, I opened my basement for hosting in summer, and earned about $12k through hosting.  I also have a typical full-time job, and typically deduct student loan interest, mortgage interest, and chartiable giving from my taxes.   I do plan to contract with a tax pro to help me file this year, but was wondering in the meantime - can my deduction on the airbnb rental be greater than my income from it in a given year?  If not, I'll quit filing all these receipts and just deduct my contactor expenses (which alone were over my earnings for this year).  If so, I'll keep saving all those receipts (on supplies and expenses) for tax time!  

Thank you for any advice!

Leslie

7 Replies 7
Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA

@Leslie175 As an accounting professonal, I’ll say: it varies depending on your taxable situation. 

Keep all all your receipts and records for your tax professional and let them decide. 

@Leslie175, @Cynthia-and-Chris1, it is not super simple, and it is best to consult your tax professional. (I am not a tax professional.)

My understanding is that renovations paid out of pocket are not deductible expenses at all, but rather are treated as an investment. This means you cannot deduct it, but it does increase the cost basis of your property, which will eventually reduce your capital gains at the time you sell the property. As a capital expense, you may be able to depreciate it, which would allow you to slowly claim the deduction over 27.5 years.

Also:

If the remodeling was for a medical necessity, then it may be deductible to a certain extent.

If you can classify any part of your remodel as a repair, then that part can be deducted on Schedule E.