Essentials

Pia17
Level 1
Sterling, VA

Essentials

I have been hosting for less than 6 months. I have a question regarding the amount of essentials you provide for guests. I provide mini shampoos and soaps to guests. I am not sure how many I should provide for weekly/monthly guests? What is the normal ratio of shampoo/soap to days of stay?  How about tissue paper?

And also, how many sets of towels (bath towels, hand towels and wash cloths) do you provide for weekly/ monthly stays? I give discounts to longer stays because It was my understanding that I do not have to provide for extras. I guess I was wrong.

i have stayed in other Airbnb units and those essentials were not even provided. I feel robbed.

32 Replies 32
Michelle286
Level 3
Auckland, New Zealand

following this as I would like to know what we are expected to provide also with the cleaning expected of long term guest 

Personally, for long term guests, we negotiate to make sure that we clean the room every week and we change the linens and towels.  We do not leave extras for guests to help themselves.  This  includes providing anything a guest can take with them, meaning, I refill the shampoo and conditioner bottles but we to not "give" them things to take away (we even make a note of it in our house rules).

What hosts provide and the expectations of what you will get during a stay is the same problem with not all providing breakfast or what constitutes breakfast to some.  There are many threads here in the forums about what they do, when they do it with along term guests - you can search for all of them. 

The "?" next to "Essentials" says: Towels, bed sheets, soap, and toilet paper.  The rest is negotiable. 

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

My understanding under essentials is that you should provide

linen

bath and hand towels

shampoo

hand soap

Shower or bath gel

Toliet paper

You should change towels/linens and clean once a week .