Hidden Cameras..What??

Kathleen234
Level 2
Liberty, MO

Hidden Cameras..What??

I am new to Airbnb as a guest. A friend just told me that many Host use hidden cameras in their house/propterties. I have read where they are suppose to "disclose" this fact to their renters. Is there any way Airbnb checks this? And YUCK..to think I'm being watched as I snuggle with my husband watching tv. That is just creepy!!

Now I'm getting lots of people telling me they would never rent a place from Airbnb because of this issue. Isn't this an evasion of privacy? What are guest options to help in locating hidden cameras? What do I do if I find a hidden camera that was not disclosed? Call 911? The Police?

I am so second quessing this whole renting someone's house thing. Maybe I should just keep to hotels. I would like to hear from any quest who have had issues with hidden cameras please.

Just when I was getting excited about a cute place on the beach..this sucks!!

15 Replies 15
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

I doubt many hosts have hidden cameras in the guest bedrooms, @Kathleen234. If I were to instal one, I would definitely do it at the entrance - you can't imagine what guests can do. If you read on in this forum, you may find out... Twice as many guests as booked, binge parties when none are allowed in the house rules... We, hosts, also indicate in our reviews for such guests that they would be better suited for hotel environment. 

Airbnb doesn't allow hidden cameras, btw. If you disclose one, you may report the host.

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"

@Kathleen234