Host cancelation

Answered!
Tomislav3
Level 1
Zagreb, Croatia

Host cancelation

Hi,

This is my first time that I had to cancel a reservation. I thought that my calendar is updated and that I turned off Instant booking. As soon as I got a booking, within a minute, I called the traveler, appologised to him and told him that, because of some issues with the house, I'm not able to host him.

So my question is why is that immediatelly written as a bad review for me?

My best,

Tomislav ***

1 Best Answer
Victoria57
Level 10
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom

Being unaware of the penalties when you cancel is no excuse, you need to understand the rules and your responsibilities. The penalties are published and are here.

View Best Answer in original post

12 Replies 12
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Because you cancelled, bad for the brand.

David
Victoria57
Level 10
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom

Being unaware of the penalties when you cancel is no excuse, you need to understand the rules and your responsibilities. The penalties are published and are here.

As if... AirBnB doesn't even follow their own policies but hosts are supposed to have them memorized?  AirBnB says clearly "no cancellation for unexpected injury" yet they allow cancellations by guests for that excuse all day long.

Robert78
Level 10
Suzhou, China

I wouldn't worry about the automated "negative" review. It's something most people pay little attention to, unless they are highly Airbnb-literate guests (or experienced guest-hosts, who are more discerning.) Most prospective guests focus on the detailed reviews, not so much the auto-generated ones which really have very little in the way of content. I screwed up once with my calendar, and as luck would have it got instant booked 10 seconds after I'd realised my error. Happens to the best of us. Best of luck!

Agnes50
Level 2
New South Wales, Australia