Host refusing to let me stay with paying security deposit in person, won't cancel reservation

Charlee5
Level 2
England, United Kingdom

Host refusing to let me stay with paying security deposit in person, won't cancel reservation

Hello,

I'm a British student working at an internship in Paris from 1/1/19 to 27/4/19. I booked my Airbnb's back in December, and was expecting to move into the second one on 17/2/19. A couple of days ago the host messaged me saying she would require a copy of my passport and a cheque of 990 Euros for a security deposit upon my arrival. I informed her that this is against Airbnb rules but I would be happy to provide a deposit through the website. She did state in her listing that she expected a security deposit but I assumed this would be through the website, I am fairly new to the site so I didn't realise it hadn't come on the bill until this situation arose. She also neglected to tell me that she would require a cheque deposit before the booking was confirmed, this is the first time it has been mentioned.

Anyway, she is now refusing to let me stay and is telling me to cancel the listing. The problem is, as it is a long term let if I cancelled I would still have to pay the first months rent which is about £1000. I have asked her to cancel as she is the one breaking the rules and it is her that has decided I cannot stay - again, i'm happy to pay a deposit but only through Airbnb. As I assumed she has gone silent and is now ignoring my messages.

Is there any way that this reservation can be cancelled without me having to pay for anything? I don't think its fair for me to be charged for her breaking the rules and i'm now left with three weeks to try and find a new host which is going to cost me even more.

I would be grateful for any help, thank you!

21 Replies 21
Cathie19
Level 10
Darwin, Australia

Hi @Charlee5.

All sounds fishy to me.........