Is Guest Account Fake?

Edith-E-0
Level 1
Charlotte, NC

Is Guest Account Fake?

I'm new to hosting and have been messaging a user back and forth about trip with multiple people. They want to book, but said there is some problem with the credit card address. This raised a red flag for me. Then they offered to send me a check and asked to text me. Huge red flag for me. I have a business, and I've seen scammers try the "I can send you a check" trick. This person has asked more questions about the place than anyone, ever, even when I've had my place on Craigslist and in local publications. I told her to contact Airbnb directly about billing.

See conversation below (read from the bottom up), does this look like a fake scam user? I pre-approved the reservation. If I cancel it, will that affect my rating? I'm not sure I want to invest more time into something that might not be legit....The user joined in Feb 2016, and has no verifications.

I cannot find an e-mail for them directly… it asks for specific questions… I will keep looking. I also cannot reserve my dates.. is that because I have not paid? - Dominique
Today at 9:55 PMThu Mar 03 2016 21:55:18 GMT-0500 (Eastern Standard Time)
The best way to get the booking issue resolved is to contact Airbnb directly. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do when it comes to processing payments.....
Today at 9:53 PMThu Mar 03 2016 21:53:34 GMT-0500 (Eastern Standard Time)

Is there anyway I can send you a check? or do the transaction two times? Dominique
Today at 9:52 PMThu Mar 03 2016 21:52:30 GMT-0500 (Eastern Standard Time)

Do you have a number I can text you at? I think that will be easier. Dominique
Today at 9:34 PMThu Mar 03 2016 21:34:47 GMT-0500 (Eastern Standard Time)

Okay.. Let me do that then... Dominique
Today at 2:36 PMThu Mar 03 2016 14:36:33 GMT-0500 (Eastern Standard Time)