Is my host trying to scam me?

Magnus8
Level 2
Halmstad, Sweden

Is my host trying to scam me?

I've been renting a place for a couple of months, and now I needed to extend my stay about 3 weeks. I entered the dates on the alteration page and got an increase of the price by X. But then I had to hurry out and didn't complete the alteration. A few hours later I messaged my host in another matter, and also mentioned that I would need to extend. A few hours later I'm back home and going to do the alteration - now the price increase is higher, just a few hours later!

I'm suspecting my host quickly jacked up the price when I told him I'd send an alteration request. But perhaps there is some automatic price adjustment going on by AirBnb or something? BTW, it's in Bangkok and right now is low season here. 

Could it be an automatic adjustment, or is it likely my host who is trying to jack up the price? Will the price revert to default after some set amount of time, or should I confront the host and ask why the price changed (I have a screenshot of the old price)?

12 Replies 12
Andrea9
Level 10
Amsterdam, Netherlands

@Magnus8

Of course you can ask him to illuminate. Communication is always the best tool.

Many hosts have an automatic reduction that kicks in for every 4 weeks.

Or have you thought of a seasonal change? My prices are higher now than in early spring when bookings are not quite as frequent.

Joanna85
Level 10
Las Vegas, NV