My first guest

Answered!
Paul5938
Level 2
Richmond Hill, Canada

My first guest

Hi!

I'm new to Airbnb ... someone booked my listing for New Year's Eve and I'm a little concerned. They don't have a picture or anything in their profile and it says they're confirmed with a government ID. I don't have a good feeling about this so I don't know what to do. They already booked and confirmed.

Thanks for your help!

1 Best Answer
Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

@Paul5938 You're right to be cautious. Because it was instant booked you can cancel without penalty, just cite that you're uncomfortable with the reservation, and that the guest is uncommunicative. 

Here are some general tips to consider for keeping bad guests from getting in the door. Big red flags are: whether old or new profile...no reviews/local/last minute/weekend booking. When you have instant book on, make it a requirement that in order to book, guests must provide profile photo, recommendations from other hosts, govt ID...basically ALL the verifications you can ( just know that govt ID can be bogus...happened to me with a guest!) You can also set it so that anyone who doesn't fulfill those can still send a 'request' to book, if you choose.  Once you get a booking, search the guest online with name and phone number. Your results can often better inform,  whether good or bad, but know that if nothing comes up, that's not necessarily a good thing.