New to Hosting in the Catskills

Susan1715
Level 2
Margaretville, NY

New to Hosting in the Catskills

Hi,

I'm New to hosting, I'm in Margaretville NY and Managing my landlords personal apartment for him, I've had 4 bookings since I listed, I'm Happy about that but need to book it more often and was hoping I could get some constructive advice on my listing, I'm limited as to what I can do as far as decor because it's his personal hunting/man getwaway he let me doll up a little :).But would love feed back so I can improve my chances.

Thanks everyone!

Sue

10 Replies 10
Ann72
Level 10
New York, NY

@Susan1715 Gah, that bear on the wall kind of depressed me.  So I'm not the target market obviously!

I think you should aim at hunters and the like.  Maybe put it in the title.  There are many Airbnbs around the country that attract hunters and outdoorspeople, so it's a definite market.

Hi,

Agreed,  I did explain to him that he would be missing out on a large market if the animals stayed but he' a hunter so that got nixed, but yes I am willing to try to gear it more towards lodge or hunting, outdoorsy types.

Thank you!

Sue

Are lumbersexuals still a thing? Maybe you could go more Paul Bunyan and less camo.

You could also go a little kitschy, with vintage Catskills or Smokey the Bear posters.

😉

F5612DC7-3119-44D6-B454-C7565B450EDB.jpeg

@Julie143 wrote:

Are lumbersexuals still a thing? Maybe you could go more Paul Bunyan and less camo.

Hahaha 🙂 I think it is! I'm trying to go for that, but very teeny tiny limited budget, I actually made most of the pillows and covers for the ones he had, working on more! and I like the idea of going with some vintage Catskills!

🙂 Thank you, Feel free to deliver more good Ideas! lol I will try and update some of the pictures today and tomorrow!

Thank You!

Sue

Julie143
Level 10
Princeton, NJ

In the kitchen: Put a full roll of paper towels on the holder