Pets

Peggy77
Level 1
Coburg, OR

Pets

Hi there,

I am new to Airbnb.  I would like to allow for small pets (dogs).  I can't see where I can add a pet deposit.  I do have a security deposit but if someone has a pet I'd like to have a bit more to take care of any issues their pet might have or might leave.  Is it possible to add a pet deposit seperate from a security deposit?

16 Replies 16

@Peggy77:
The deposit would cover any and all damage no matter the source. Airbnb does not differentiate between pets and people.

David126
Level 10
Como, CO

@Peggy77

Are familiar with the way the SD operates?

David
Caryn3
Level 2
Paso Robles, CA

I agree with Peggy... I don't need to charge a security deposit every time; but I do want to charge extra if someone brings a pet. There is a place to add extra charge for extra people, but not for pets. This would be nice, because there is extra laundry/cleaning involved when guests bring pets. There should be an extra charge.

@Caryn3

You could make clear on your listing that pets count as people for pricing purposes.

David

There is no "pet fee" button. I charge an additional fee for pets and explain it in my listing description. When someone books and wants to bring their pet, I send them the additional fee through the Airbnb Resolution Center. The fee has to be accepted before I send the guest the door code on check in day. It very easy and the extra fee is not subject to the Airbnb service fee percentage for guest or host. 

That's if the guest declares they have pets. I have a guest who did not and has 3 dogs. I have no issue with that but want to be able to charge additional fees or I will be losing money. It's also why it's critical I TALK with guests prior.... to get this addressed upfront, but Airbnb doesn't allow that either. 

@Ali40 

I like this idea and want to try it. Can you give me a link to your listing or more detailed information on how to carry this out?