Re: What happens when the host cancels a booking

Richard152
Level 4
Bath, United Kingdom

Re: What happens when the host cancels a booking

Hi,

I'm new to hosting on AirBnB and have yet to receive my first guests.

A different guest wanted to reserve the whole Christmas week and my son pressed 'ACCEPT' without checking with me. When I looked at the booking, I could see that the prices quoted in AirBnB were rockbottom and totally wrong! So, after speaking with the booking guest, I cancelled the booking, while I looked into what had happened. Then the guest informed me that it was not this year's Christmas week, but the Christmas week for 2017!

Now I'm told that 'To avoid future cancellations these dates have been blocked'. What does this mean? Blocked forever? For a few days?

I have now re-entered the right prices, but I can neither take another booking for this period, nor re-invite the original guest to book again!

It all sounds very strange and mysterious.

Does anyone know what happens when the host cancels a booking?

Many thanks,

Richard

4 Replies 4
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Richard152  You have posted your issue in the middle of another discussion thread.  Perhaps you can re post.  Meanwhile you should read the Air BNB Help Center articles about cancellation.  

City-Limits-Ranch0
Level 10
Watsonville, CA

You can never cancel without the dates being blocked.  If you accidently accept a booking with the wrong dates, wrong price or whatever, you will have to honor it.  If you feel unsafe with the guest you can call AirBnb and have THEM cancel it and your dates will not be blocked. 

They won't let you just cancel without penalty for reasons such as "made a mistake" , they only cancel without penalty for safety reasons or extenuating circumstances such as death in family, illness, plumbing not working, electrical outage,  earthquakes, riots, war.