Safety security concern

Jacqui54
Level 2
Johannesburg, South Africa

Safety security concern

Hi, I am fairly new to hosting (not quite a year) and have had a terrific time and met some great people. However, my current guest has been a problem since he tried to book and there were payment issues which he tried to make my problem. Then it was leaving luggage, then he'd booked the wrong day then it was the check in time.  Everything was an issue. He has been difficult and non responsive and I am very concerned about getting him out tomorrow.  I did not meet him when he arrived, but have just heard from the person who did let him in that he is not the person in the photo. I am so stressed about this! I asked him to upload a photo of himself before accepting the booking and now have this weird person arrived when I was not home and was shown in by my assistant.  I am here on my own. My husband is away this week. I contacted a previous host who had the same issues with him (including the check out) I want to call my security company to come and remove him tonight but where do I stand with this dishonest and difficult Airbnb guest if I turf him out? Please reply urgently. 

5 Replies 5
Amber159
Level 1
Narragansett, RI

Hi, this is my first week hosting and I am renting a bedroom out in my home where I live with my 2 small children and husband and a woman booked, I accepted and she informed me her 27 year old son would be staying instead of her.  I told her I’m uncomfortable with him staying unless he books under his name 

You don't have to accept a third party booking.  So you can tell the guest to cancel.  Or you can call Airbnb and ask them to cancel for you. 

If the guest goes on line and tells Airbnb that 'you' want to cancel then Airbnb will send an automated request to you and if you accept the cancellation then it will penalize you.