Scam listing?

Answered!

Scam listing?

I'm new to Airbnb. I'm not planning travel, but I was curious to see what might be available in my home town. A couple of the listings threw up red flags for me. One in particular showed photos of a residence that clearly is not in the town. It's not even in the same state. And the price was very high. Is this a scam listing? How do you know if a place is actually real?

1 Best Answer
Sabine42
Level 10
Tucson, AZ

Hi K,

if you're fairly certain this listing is not where or what it says you should flag it. unfortunately the number of scam listings is growing but a good indicator for a 'real' listing is the reviews. good reviews = hosts at work to create good experiences for travelers. That being said, new listings don't have reviews until somebody stays there and leaves one. I personally only book with hosts that tell me something about themselves in their profile (and that have good reviews). Superhost status is another good sign but not necessary for a great experience. If something looks fishy it probably is..

hope this helps!

View Best Answer in original post

29 Replies 29
Marit-Anne0
Level 10
Bergen, Norway

If you suspect a listing is fake - please report (flag) the listing asap.  

Sabine42
Level 10
Tucson, AZ

Hi K,

if you're fairly certain this listing is not where or what it says you should flag it. unfortunately the number of scam listings is growing but a good indicator for a 'real' listing is the reviews. good reviews = hosts at work to create good experiences for travelers. That being said, new listings don't have reviews until somebody stays there and leaves one. I personally only book with hosts that tell me something about themselves in their profile (and that have good reviews). Superhost status is another good sign but not necessary for a great experience. If something looks fishy it probably is..

hope this helps!

This is helpful. Thank you!

Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA