Service fee

Service fee

Hello,

I am new to Airbnb and I have noticed, that some of the hosts pays the extra service fee instead the client. How can I make that happened.? I think it seems more interesting for client to rent  when not paying anything extra.

Thank you in advance.

17 Replies 17
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Eero11 Go into your account and you will find the option to pay the service fee yourself rather than have the guest pay it. You will have to increase your rates to ensure you end up with the same net rate per night as you do today

Hello. Thank you for your advice. Could you still help me a little, I tried to find where to change it from my account but I can't find it, could you explain where is it exactly?

@Eero11 On a computer:

Go to your hosting home page

Click on the picture icon of you in the top right hand corner

Click on Account

Click on payments and payouts

Somewhere in the middle of the screen you then click on service fee

Choose the option you want

Good luck

Thank you.

It is interesting, that I don't have that option. I guess i need to contact airbnb support for this. Thank you anyways, good community we have here. BR. Eero

On your phone Menu->Settings->Payouts - then you will see this @Eero11:

F19CA7E1-10EA-46D2-AE1B-2E0C44A59B27.jpeg

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

@Eero11 @Mike-And-Jane0 

We changed from "split fee" (guest 15%, host 3%) to "host pays full commission" (15% host, 0% guest). We raised prices to compensate (actually made it slightly more than the difference). 

Unexpectedly, the bookings have accelerated remarkably since then. 

I can't identify why there's more bookings. It appears that there is no indication on our listing that the guest pays no commission, and actually the price the guest pays is a bit higher than before. It might just be that people are booking more for whatever reason.