Superhost - Instant Book

Leon49
Level 1
Singapore

Superhost - Instant Book

Dear Community,

I'm new to the hosting community, and I'm really glad that our new listing is doing great so far! However, I have a question with regards to Superhost Status.

While I understand that it is a requirement to have 100% Commitment (amongst other things) to be a Superhost, I also noticed that when I want to turn off Instant Booking, it says:

"We have your back
If you’re ever uncomfortable with a reservation, before or during a trip, you can cancel penalty-free."

So, here's the question. Does it mean that if we have Instant Booking turned on, and received a booking, we can cancel it without penalizing our Commitment Rate? Or how does this actually works?

Also, does changing the dates of a confirmed reservation affects Commitment Rate as well?

Seeking some clarity from the kind community here please!

TIA!
5 Replies 5
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

Look up host cancellation under the Help Center to get a complete answer, @Leon49, but in short, you will be able to cancel an Instant Booking reservation if you are not comfortable with the guest.  Be sure to set the IB criteria to require no negative reviews and you will not need to cancel.  Sometimes the system allows an IB reservation when the dates are blocked or the guest has intentions to break your rules because they have not read the listing completely.  In those cases, I contact Air BNB and ask them to cancel.  Hope this helps

Thanks Linda for the super fast response! Thank you for directing me to the article - wasn't sure what keyword to search for it.