Violated house rules and collecting security deposit

Lis15
Level 2
Genneteil, France

Violated house rules and collecting security deposit

I am new to AirBNB, signed up a couple of months ago - but yet to get a booking.

On other sites I advertise a set price for the rental and a seperate price for the 'security' deposit - which in my book, covers the cost of cleaning should the customer not clean before they leave (which is normal in holiday cottages in France).

I do not want to set a cleaning fee - I want the client to leave the place as they found it - clean, tidy and respectable, ready for the next arrivals - with exceptions such as linen etc. being changed by me. I dont have time between a departure and an arrival on the same day to do more than changing all the linen, checking the appliances and making sure everything is clean and hygienic - that sort of thing.

My question is - does Airbnb support claims against the Security Deposit as a result of the clients NOT leaving it as they found it? I wouldn't be able to provide Invoices for cleaning done - I do it myself! So if the place was left in a total mess, I would, with other sites, not refund the security deposit citing that the place wasn not left as found.

We are not an hotel...the expectation is different!

5 Replies 5
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

The security deposit is for damage and difficult to claim against as you have to prove the guests did the damage, provide photos and also receipts for replacement. AirBnB wont allow you to use it in absence of you having a cleaning fee.