cleaning: how often?

Hugo144
Level 2
Maldonado, Uruguay

cleaning: how often?

Hi everybody! I am from Uruguay, Punta del Este, I am new to this business and I want to start hosting (I am currently working on getting my listing ready). It is a small private bedroom with a tiny hallway and a bathroom. My question is how often should I clean the place, since -from what I've read in Airbnb- the topics always seem to be cleaning before one guest arrives and after one guest leaves, and it seems sort of unusual to clean the place during the guests stay. Shouldn't cleaning be done once a day, like in hotels? Do you have to lay beds or do you leave it to the guests? Especially for the bathroom, should I allow days before cleaning it? 

I'd appreciate your comments and I'd very much like to learn from your experiences. Thank you, dear community!

8 Replies 8
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

Frequency of cleaning during the stay is up to you, @Hugo144, however, most host agree to at least a weekly cleaning if the guest is staying 1-3 weeks.  If the guest is long term, over 4 weeks, then many hosts will provide cleaning products and expect the guest to clean for themselves.

Almost no host cleans every day like a hotel.  As for the bathroom, is it shared with you or private?  If shared, then you should ask the guest to store personal items in their room and consider lightly cleaning the bathroom frequently.

Some hosts do not make the bed as may be the custom of their area, but most host make the bed with clean linens. Hope this helps!

You insight is very useful, you covered nearly every cleaning point in a few words! Thank you, Linda.

Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland