other guest identification

Start-Capetown0
Level 2
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

other guest identification

I am brand new to Airbn. I listed my booking and had someone contact me the day before arrival. The apartment was empty so no big deal. But brought me down to a 40% discount monthly rental price. I did request a copy of his id (local) and copy's  of other persons staying (also local). Am I allowed to ask for copy's of id or passports before moving in? I felt very unsafe leaving strangers in my fully furnished and equipped apartment. I had a full inventory of contents prepared of the things in the apartment and was told by the tenant that this won't be necessary as airbn has good insurance. I left the list with him all the same. The guy arrived on his own 1.5 hours late.  He booked for 3 people (but I don't know who the other 2 people are).  I was told 3 people would be staying there. But I have no way of knowing if this is true as the apartment potentially sleeps 5. Also I forgot to mention in the ad that the electricity was prepaid. Which I am now honouring by sending a token number to his phone periodically. They are going through R100 is 4 days. When the apartment on average uses around R350 per month.

I was told by the tenant I was not allowed to request copies of Id's. Is this true, where airbn has no real legal right in SA.

5 Replies 5
Deb0
Level 9
Mendocino, CA

I think it's ok to ask for ID. It might be a good idea to call Airbnb to confirm. A month is a long time, I can see how you would be concerned. I wonder what is spiking the electricity?

Start-Capetown0
Level 2