Cancellation policy

Nicco2
Level 1
Florence, Italy

Cancellation policy

Good morning fellow hosts!

This is Roberto from Florence, Italy. I’ve been hosting with my son Nicco for quite several years now, but there’s always a time when you need help from your friends…
I just received a booking for a villa we rent out as a whole (7 bedrooms) for peak season (June 2019). Original request was for a week, but when booked instantly the sojourn increased to 11 days. It would be great if cancellation policy was Strict, but being Moderate, I fear that they might cancel at the last minute to sabotage our calendar.
I’ve asked AirBnB if I could ASK the guest to agree on a change of policy, like we do for dates or price, but apparently that cannot be done!
Has anybody dealt with that problem? Any advise? Thanks in advance and best regards, Roberto

PS: Guest is ****

She has no reviews. Has anybody hosted her?

*[Personal information hidden for privacy reasons – in line withe Community Center Guidelines]

4 Replies 4
Victoria567
Level 10
Scotland, United Kingdom

Hi caro @Roberto0

In future to prevent such headaches I would  change my cancellation policy to STRICT cancellation policy beforehand so the guest knows precisely what they have booked for in terms of cancellation.

Personally as a fellow host and as a fellow guest I think it is a bit “sfacciato” to ask any guest to now accept a strict cancellation policy AFTER they made their booking with you as they did not use the instant book facility probably because they wanted a moderate cancellation as their plans are still being finalised.

Non si può avere i piedi in due paia di scarpe! 

Hi Victoria,

Thanks for your answer.

I obviously agree on using the different cancellation policy settings to prevent future headaches.